

District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC) Meeting Minutes – April 20, 2023, 2:00 p.m. Page 1 of 2

I. Welcome & Introductions

Jose Torres brought the meeting to order shortly after 2:00 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes

- A. Confirm a Quorum Quorum was confirmed.
- B. Approve Minutes of February 16, 2023 Larry Strong made a motion to approve the minutes, which Josh Robles seconded. The motion passed by a majority vote.

III. Current Topics

- A. Student Centered Funding Formula Presentation Members received a presentation on the Student Centered Funding Formula (SCFF) from Larry. The presentation, which was also made at a meeting of the new Districtwide Enrollment Management Subcommittee, was included in the meeting material. Other discussion points were made, including the following.
 - There are many funds at SBCCD such as Child Development, Student Trust, etc., but the income generated from the state based on the SCFF affects only the Unrestricted General Fund.
 - Jose explained that an FTES (or Full-Time Equivalent Student) is (roughly) calculated as one student taking 30 units in one year.
 - The numbers shown in the PowerPoint are only an approximate of the SBCCD values; they have been rounded to simplify the presentation.
 - The state calculates district FTES using a three-year average.
 - Concern was expressed about SBVC dipping under 10,000 FTES and losing its designation as a medium-sized college. Increasing FTES is very important.

Jose and Larry offered to make this presentation to any constituent groups.

B. DBAC Self-Evaluation

Members were advised that a committee self-evaluation link would be sent to them via email and were asked to complete it by May 4.

IV. Future Topics

There were no member suggestions for future topics.

V. Next Meeting Date & Adjournment

The meeting ended at approximately 3 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 18 at 2 p.m.



District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC) Meeting Minutes – April 20, 2023, 2:00 p.m. Page 2 of 2

QUORUM: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

yes	1) 50% + one of appointed voting members (not 50% of members plus vacancies).		
yes	2) One faculty member from each campus		
yes	3) Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)		
yes	4) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified,	student, management)	
		•	
1	Faculty, SBVC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Davena Burns-Peters	absent
2	Classified, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Debbie Castro	present
3	Black Faculty & Staff Association	Denise Knight	present
4	Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association	Erik Morden	present
5	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Girija Raghavan	present
6	Executive Vice Chancellor, Chair	Jose Torres	present
7	Faculty, CHC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Josh Robles	present
8	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Karen Peterson	present
9	Confidential Group	Kelly Goodrich	present
10	Management, CHC (appointed by college president	Kevin Horan	present
11	Director of Fiscal Services	Larry Strong	present
12	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	present
13	Faculty, CHC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Meridyth McLaren/ Natalie Lopez	absent
14	VP, Admin Services, CHC	Mike Strong	present
15	ASG President or designee, SBVC	Nelva Ruiz-Martinez	absent
16	Asian Pacific Islanders Association	Patty Quach	absent
17	CTA (appointed by CTA)	Riase Jakpor	present
18	ASG President or designee, CHC	Robert Alexander	absent
19	Faculty, SBVC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Romana Pires	present
20	Management, SBVC (appointed by college president	Scott Thayer	present
21	Police Officer's Association	Vacant	n/a
22	Management Association	Stephanie Lewis	absent
23	Business Manager	Steve Sutorus	absent
24	VP, Admin Services, SBVC	Tenille Norris	absent
25	CSEA Treasurer (appointed by CSEA)	Yendis Battle	present