I. Welcome & Introductions

Jose F. Torres, Executive Vice Chancelor, brought the meeting to order shortly after 2:00 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes

A. Confirm a Quorum Quorum was confirmed.

B. 11/21/2024

Keith Bacon made a motion to approve the minutes of 11/21/2024 which Cynthia St. Jean seconded. The motion was approved by a majority.

Abstentions: Yendis Battle, Anthony Castro, Earnest Guillen, and Bethany Tasaka

III. Current Topics

A. Joint Analysis Governor's January Budget

Jose shared details of the Governor's January Budget and presented the SBCCD budget process to the committee. Jose explained the Student Center Formula and how it relates to the allocation of funds. Jose also went over the budget cycle, where SBCCD is in the cycle and what is needed from staff to complete the budget. Discussion took place with questions and comments addressed.

IV. Next Meeting Date & Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 20 at 2:00 p.m.

QUORUM: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

yes	1) 50% + one of appointed voting members (not 50% of members plus vacancies).

yes 2) One faculty member from each campus

3) Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)

4) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)

yes	4) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)			
1	Executive Vice Chancellor, Chair	Jose Torres	present	
2	Management, CHC (appointed by college president	Kevin Horan		
3	Management, SBVC (appointed by college president	Gil Contreras		
4	VP, Admin Services, CHC	Mike Strong		
5	VP, Admin Services, SBVC	Keith Bacon	present	
6	Director of Fiscal Services	Jorge Andrade	present	
7	Executive Director, Business & Fiscal	Steve Sutorus	present	
8	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	present	
9	Faculty, CHC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Meridyth McLaren		
10	Faculty, CHC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Kenneth George	present	
11	Faculty, SBVC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Andrea Hecht	present	
12	Faculty, SBVC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Anthony Castro	present	
13	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Karen Peterson	present	
14	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Jonathan Flaa		
15	ASG President or designee, CHC	Vacant		
16	ASG President or designee, SBVC	Nelva Ruiz-Martinez Dyami Ruiz-Martinez	present	
17	Black Faculty & Staff Association	Patrice Hollis		
18	Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association	Aida Gil	present	
19	CTA (appointed by CTA)	Nick Reichert	present	



District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC)

Meeting Minutes – January 16, 2025, 2:00 p.m. Page 3 of 3

20	CSEA Treasurer (appointed by CSEA)	Yendis Battle	present
21	Classified, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Ernest Guillen	present
22	Management Association	Stephanie Lewis	present
23	Confidential Group	Cyndie St. Jean	present
24	Police Officer's Association	Aaron Tang	
25	Asian Pacific Islanders Association	Bethany Tasaka	present

Guests:

Shari Blackwell Joanna Oxendine Anthony Papa