

District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC) Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2025, 2:00 p.m. Page 1 of 3

I. Welcome & Introductions Jose F. Torres, Executive Vice Chancellor, brought the meeting to order shortly after 2:00 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes

- A. Confirm a Quorum *Quorum was not confirmed.*
- B. 01/16/2025
- C. 02/20/2025 Minutes tabled until next meeting due to not meeting quorum.

III. Current Topics

- A. 2024-25 Self-Evaluation Summary Report Jose F. Torres gave an overview of the results to the 2024-25 DBAC self-evaluation report that included committee reviews of the progress, goals and accomplishments of the committee.
- B. 2025-26 Tentative Budget Jose F. Torres shared details of the 2025-26 Tentative Budget and the Governor's May Revision to the California Budget.

IV. Next Meeting Date & Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, July 17 at 2:00 p.m.

Raquel Perez, Recorder



District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC) Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2025, 2:00 p.m. Page 2 of 3

QUORUM: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

no	1) 50% + one of appointed voting members (not 50% of members plus vacancies).									
yes	2) One faculty member from each campus									
yes	3) Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)									
yes	4) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)									
1	Executive Vice Chancellor, Chair	Jose Torres	DSO	MAN	1	present				
2	Management, CHC (appointed by college president	Kevin Horan	CHC	MAN	1	present				
3	Management, SBVC (appointed by college president	Gil Contreras	SBVC	MAN	1					
4	VP, Admin Services, CHC	Mike Strong	CHC	MAN	1	present				
5	VP, Admin Services, SBVC	Keith Bacon	SBVC	MAN	1					
6	Director of Fiscal Services	Jorge Andrade	DSO	MAN	1	present				
7	Executive Director, Business & Fiscal	Steve Sutorus	DSO	MAN	1	present				
8	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	DSO	MAN	1	present				
9	Faculty, CHC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Meridyth McLaren	CHC	FAC	1					
10	Faculty, CHC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Kenneth George	CHC	FAC	1	present				
11	Faculty, SBVC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Andrea Hecht	SBVC	FAC	1					
12	Faculty, SBVC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Anthony Castro	SBVC	FAC	1					
13	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Karen Peterson	CHC	CLA	1	present				
14	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Jonathan Flaa	SBVC	CLA	1	present				
15	ASG President or designee, CHC	Vacant	CHC	STU	0					



District Budget Advisory Committee (DBAC) Meeting Minutes – May 15, 2025, 2:00 p.m. Page 3 of 3

16	ASG President or designee, SBVC	Nelva Ruiz-Martinez Dyami Ruiz-Martinez	SBVC	STU	1	
17	Black Faculty & Staff Association	Patrice Hollis	SBVC	CLA	1	
18	Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association	Aida Gil	SBVC	CLA	1	
19	CTA (appointed by CTA)	Nick Reichert	SBVC	FAC	1	present
20	CSEA Treasurer (appointed by CSEA)	Yendis Battle	DSO	CLA	1	
21	Classified, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Ernest Guillen	SBVC	CLA	1	
22	Management Association	Stephanie Lewis	SBVC	MAN	1	present
23	Confidential Group	Cyndie St. Jean	CHC	CON	1	present
24	Police Officer's Association	Aaron Tang	DSO	POA	1	
25	Asian Pacific Islanders Association	Bethany Tasaka	SBVC	MAN	1	

24

Guest Shari Blackwell Laura Van Genderen