

Facilities Advisory Committee (FAC) Meeting Minutes – May 10, 2023 9:00 a.m. Via Zoom

I. Welcome & Confirmation of Quorum

Farrah Farzaneh called the meeting to order at 9:05 am

II. Approval of Minutes

Bob Jenkins made a motion to approve the minutes from March 8, 2023. Cheryl Alexander seconded the motion.

There was no discussion. Tatiana abstained. All other members in attendance voted to approve.

III. Current Topics

A. Recommendation for Approval- Revised Sustainability Goals & Initiatives

Yash conveyed that the team carefully analyzed the feedback collected from the sustainability open forums. Based on this valuable input, they refined and optimized the final goals and initiatives. These documents were shared with the committee via email on 5/1/2023 and reviewed again on 05/10/2023.

Mike Strong commended Yash and the team for going out to the campuses and getting feedback. He recognized that it slowed down the process but felt that it was valuable for the CHC campus. Tatiana also recognized the efforts that were put forth for these events.

In September we will be voting to take this forward to Chancellor's Council. We need the committee to come prepared in September to approve the plan. Yash will share the final document with the committee as soon as it is prepared.

The Sustainability Goals & Initiatives will be a living document. It will be reviewed and refined as it is executed and added to best meet the needs of the campuses.

B. Review of Committee Self-Evaluation Survey

The committee reviewed the results of the self-evaluation survey. It was requested that going forward the committee receive the results prior to the meeting. Farrah shared that any additional comments or thoughts could be sent to her by email. We value feedback and comments so that we can continue to improve and discuss items that are important to the committee.

IV. Future Topics

A. Discussion of future topics for the next year

Farrah facilitated a discussion about what topics the committee would like to see in the new year.

Tenille recommended that we continue to discuss construction topics.

There was a discussion about providing updates about construction topics and how they impact the campus. Mike and Tenille agreed that this needs to be done at the campus level.

It was requested that a high-level schedule of all the district-wide bond projects be shared.

V. Adjournment

Farrah adjourned the meeting at 9:50 am The next Meeting will be on September 13th at 9:00 a.m.



yes

Facilities Advisory Committee (FAC) Meeting Minutes – May 10, 2023 9:00 a.m. Via Zoom

QUORUM: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

yes 1) 50% + one of appointed voting members (not 50% of members plus vacancies).

yes 2) One faculty member from each campus

yes 3) Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)

4) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)

1	Director Facilities Planning, Emergency Management & Construction, Chair	Farrah Farzaneh	DSO	MAN	1	Present
2	Associate Director of Energy, Sustainability & Safety Administration, Co-Chair	Yash Patel	DSO	MAN	1	Present
3	VP, Admin Services, CHC	Mike Strong	CHC	MAN	1	Present
4	VP, Admin Services, SBVC	Tenille Norris	SBVC	MAN	1	Absent
5	Facilities Director	Larry Cook	CHC	MAN	1	Absent
6	Facilities Director	Bob Jenkins	SBVC	MAN	1	Present
7	Associate Director, Bond Program Planning & Construction	Abel Favela	DSO	MAN	1	Present
8	Environmental, Health & Safety Administrator	Melissa Nano	DSO	MAN	1	Present
9	Facilities Project Manager	Hassan Mirza	DSO	MAN	1	Present
10	Emergency Manager	Vacant	DSO	MAN	0	
11	Faculty, CHC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Peter Gend	CHC	FAC	1	Present
12	Faculty, CHC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Vacant	CHC	FAC	0	
13	Faculty, SBVC (1 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Jennifer Bjerke	SBVC	FAC	1	Absent
14	Faculty, SBVC (2 of 2) (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Tatiana Vasquez	SBVC	FAC	1	Present
15	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Christina Sweeting	CHC	CLA	1	Present
16	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Sarah Yearyean	SBVC	CLA	1	Present
17	ASG President or designee, CHC	Dakota Erwin (Nelva Ruiz-Martinez)	CHC	STU	1	Absent
18	ASG President or designee, SBVC	Chassady Arias	SBVC	STU	1	Absent
19	Black Faculty & Staff Association	Vacant			0	
20	Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association	Mary Valdemar (Ernest Guillen)	SBVC	FAC	1	Present
21	CTA (appointed by CTA)	Alicia Hallex	SBVC	FAC	1	Absent
22	CSEA Representative (appointed by CSEA)	Dave Stevenson	CHC	CLA	1	Present
23	Classified, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Vacant		CLA	0	
24	Confidential Group	Stacey Nikac	DSO	CON	1	Absent
25	Police Officer's Association	Blake Bonnet	DSO	MAN	1	Present
26	TESS Representative	Roger Robles	DSO	MAN	1	Present
27	KVCR Representative	Cheryl Alexander	DSO	MAN	1	Present
28	EDCT Representative	Tim Vasquez	DSO	MAN	1	Absent
29	Print Shop Representative	Deborah Castro	CHC	CLA	1	Present
30	Asian Pacific Islanders Association	Souts Xayaphanthong	CHC	MAN	1	Present