

# INSTITUTIONAL EFFECTIVENESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Meeting Minutes – October 28, 2021, 10:00 a.m. Via Zoom: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/91201139260

	Present	Absent		Present	Absent
Christopher Crew (DSO)	Х		John Feist	Х	
Heather Ford (DSO)	Х		Artour Aslanian	Х	
Joe Opris	Х		Kay Dee Yarborough	Х	
Luke Bixler	X		Myung Koh	Х	
Giovanni Sosa		Х	Madeleine Boone	Х	
Joanna Oxendine		Х	Paul Del Rosario		Х
Jeff Schmidt	Х		Keith Wurtz	Х	
Davena Burns-Peters	Х		Dina Humble		Х
Kashaunda Harris		Х	Celia Huston	Х	
Rania Hamdy	Х		Allan Erving	Х	
Guy Martin Hinrichs		Х	Ariel Davis	Х	
Brandice Mello		Х			
Ernest Guillen	Х				

## I.Call to Order

C. Crew called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

# II. Roll Call

H. Ford reviewed the new quorum requirements. Roll call was conducted and quorum was established.

# III.Approval of Minutes of September 23, 2021

K. Wurtz moved to approve the 2021-09-23 IEAC minutes. L. Ashlock seconded the motion.

AYES: Unanimous NOES: None ABSENT: Sosa, Oxendine, Harris, Hinrichs, Mello, Del Rosario, Humble ABSTENTIONS: None

## **IV. Membership**

H. Ford reviewed the current membership and clarified the committee had three CSEA representatives because the membership at that time was too faculty heavy.

## V. Selecting Additional Quad Chair

R. Hamdy moved to nominate Celia Huston as the faculty representative quad chair. D. Burns-Peters seconded the motion.

AYES: Unanimous

NOES: None ABSENT: Sosa, Oxendine, Harris, Hinrichs, Mello, Del Rosario, Humble ABSTENTIONS: None

Celia Huston accepted the nomination.

K. Wurtz moved to nominate Artour Aslanian as the classified representative quad chair. D. Burns-Peters seconded the motion.

AYES: Unanimous NOES: None ABSENT: Sosa, Oxendine, Harris, Hinrichs, Mello, Del Rosario, Humble ABSTENTIONS: None

Artour Aslanian accepted the nomination.

#### VI. TESS Executive Disbandement

L. Bixler reported the TESS Executive only meets three times/ year, with the primary charge of reviewing the District Technology Strategic Plan. The IEAC is also charged with reviewing the District Technology Strategic Plan, and majority members on TESS Executive are also members of IEAC. IEAC will have a reoccurring agenda item to encompass TESS items.

Virtual poll was conducted to disband TESS Executive Subcommittee. Out of 15 committee members, 15 voted aye.

AYES: Unanimous NOES: None ABSENT: Sosa, Oxendine, Harris, Hinrichs, Mello, Del Rosario, Humble ABSTENTIONS: None

#### VII. Single Point Application

L. Bixler reported the Single Point Application asked the college research the feasibility. CHC is still working on it and will report at a later meeting. No report from SBVC as D. Humble was absent. L. Bixler to follow up with the campuses.

#### VIII. Removal of Subcommittee Quorum

R. Hamdy moved to remove quorum requirements on IEAC subcommittees, workgroup, etc. J. Feist seconded the motion.

Virtual poll was conducted. Out of 15 committee members, 14 voted aye, 1 abstained.

AYES: 14 yes NOES: None ABSENT: Sosa, Oxendine, Harris, Hinrichs, Mello, Del Rosario, Humble ABSTENTIONS: 1 member

#### IX. Changing the DSO Program Review Committee

The committee discussed options so Program Review can be a focus directly of DSO and taking into account the campuses program review is very different from the district's process.

SAN BERNARDINO 📢

## 11:19 a.m. – quorum was lost.

H. Ford will schedule an emergency meeting with a week to finalize the action agenda items.

## X. Ed Master Plan Consultant Search Update

Tabled until next meeting.

XI. Overview of Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment Tabled to a future meeting.

## XII. Review Homework

Tabled to a future meeting.

XII. Preview of next meeting, changing meeting time, and futue agenda Tabled to a future meeting.

## XIII. Other Items

## XIV. Next Meeting

H. Ford to conduct Doddle poll to hold emergency IEAC meeting to finish business due to loss of quorum. Via Zoom: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/91201139260

## XV. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:29 a.m.

Final meeting minutes approved by IEAC \_\_\_\_\_, 2021

Heather Ford, Executive Assistant SBCCD, Office of the Chancellor DIEC Recorder



Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee (IEAC) Meeting Attendance – October 28, 2021, 3:00 p.m.

**QUORUM**: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

Met?

Yes 50% + one of appointed\* voting members (*11 members*)

Yes Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)

Yes Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)

	Representation	Member	Present	Absent
1)	VC, Educational Services	vacant	n/a	
2)	District Director Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness	Christopher Crew	X	
3)	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	X	
4)	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, CHC	Giovanni Sosa		X
5)	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, SBVC	Joanna Oxendine		X
6)	Human Resources Representative (appointed by VC HR)	Joe Opris	X	
7)	Faculty, CHC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Jeff Schmidt	X	
8)	Faculty, SBVC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Davena Burns-Peters	X	
9)	Management, CHC (Accreditation Liaison Officer. appointed by college president)	Keith Wurtz	X	
10)		Dina Humble		X
11)	Accreditation Committee Chair, CHC	Keith Wurtz	X	
12)	Accreditation Committee Chair, SBVC	Celia Huston	X	
13)	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Brandice Mello		X
14)	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	John Feist	X	
15)	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, CHC	Kashaunda Harris		Х
16)	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, SBVC	Rania Hamdy	X	
17)	Confidential Group (by position, EA Office of the Chancellor)	Heather Ford	X	
18)	CSEA Representative, CHC (appointed by CSEA)	Artour Aslanian	X	
19)	CSEA Representative, SBVC (appointed by CSEA)	Kay Dee Yarborough	X	



Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee (IEAC) Meeting Attendance – October 28, 2021, 3:00 p.m.

**QUORUM**: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

Met?

Yes 50% + one of appointed\* voting members (*11 members*)

Yes Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)

Yes Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)

Representation	Member	Present	Absent
20) CSEA Representative, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Myung Koh	Х	
21) CTA (appointed by CTA)	Guy Martin Hinrichs		X
22) Black Faculty & Staff Association (appointed by BFSA President)	Allan Erving & Ariel Davis	X	
23) Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association (appointed by LFSAA President)	Alma Lopez		X
24) Associated Student Government President or designee, CHC	Madeleine Boone proxy Lauren Ashlock	X	
25) Associated Student Government President or designee, SBVC	Paul Del Rosario		X

\*50% +1 will be calculated using 50% of total appointed members (not 50% of appointed members plus vacancies).