

INSTITUTIONAL EFFECTIVENESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Meeting Minutes – April 28, 2022, 10:00 a.m. Via Zoom: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/91201139260

- I. Call to Order
 - C. Crew called the meeting to order at 10:13 a.m.
- II. Roll Call and Quorum
 - H. Ford recorded roll call and determined quorum was met.
- III. Approval of Minutes 2-24-2022

Keith moved to approve the minutes from 02-24-2022 . Davena Burns-Peters seconded the motion.

AYES: Unanimous present

NOES: None

ABSENT: Humble, Mello, Hinrichs, Del Rosario

ABSTENTIONS: None

- IV. Introduction of Vice Chancellor Educational and Student Support Services, Nohemy Ornelas
- V. Approval of IEAC Recommendation #2022-05 Seat of IEAC for Police Officer Association

E. Guillen moved to approve IEAC Recommendation #2022-05 Seat on IEAC for Police Officer Association. D. Burns Peters seconded the motion.

AYES: Ornelas, Crew, Bixler, Harris, Sosa, Oxendine, Zaragoza, Schmidt, Burns-Peters, Wurtz, Huston, Feist, Ford, Yarborough, Koh, Erving, Guillen, Brahjini,

NOES: None

ABSENT: Humble, Mello, Hinrichs, Del Rosario

ABSTENTIONS: Hamdy

VI. Selection of Classified Quad-Chair

Tabled until fall.

VII. Institutional Effectiveness Updates

A. SBVC - Celia Huston/Joanna Oxendine

J. Oxendine reported the steering committee met and are working on mission, vision and values to be moved through the collaborative shared governance processes. R. Hamdy reported SBVC is close to finalizing mission, vision, and values. They will bring it to Senate for a motion of support.

B. CHC - Keith Wurtz/Gio Sosa

K. Wurtz institution effectiveness and outcomes assessment annual work. G. Sosa reported the districtwide survey will be launched beginning of May. Looking forward to the external regional meetings regarding the discovery phase.

VIII. Data Accessibility

J. Oxendine reported last year SBVC submitted an IEPI proposal that was accepted. This \$200,000 funding will be applied to the research office and data accessibility. The goal is to give access to that data to make data informed decisions regarding continuous improvement and are student support. The campuses are looking at the immediate concerns for the campus community. A focus will be on data coaching as well. G. Sosa reviewed the data use culture to allow guidance of data usage.

Crew to send out draft questions for a data accessibility survey.

IX. Review of Topic Priority Topics

The committee discussed the remaining categories: Institutional Effectiveness, Student Success, Distance Education, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, and Data. Some topics might be under other committee's purview.

- R. Hamdy requested a timeline, steps, tasks, and deliverables of projects like TESS' inventory of all data systems.
- N. Ornelas and C. Crew are to email the TESS data systems inventory information to the committee.

X. Review of Committee Evaluation Results

XI. Other Items

XII. Next Meeting

Thursday, May 26, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. Via Zoom: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/91201139260

IX. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Final meeting minutes approved by IEAC ______, 2022

Heather Ford, Executive Assistant SBCCD, Office of the Chancellor



QUORUM: Definition of Quorum is established by Chancellor's Council. Committees cannot vote or make decisions unless they have met quorum, but in order to encourage participation, committee members can provide a designee or a proxy if they are not able to attend.

- yes 1) 50% + one of appointed voting members (not 50% of members plus vacancies).
- yes 2) Two persons from each site (CHC, SBVC, DSO)
- yes 3) Three of four constituent groups represented (faculty, classified, student, management)

	Representation	Member Name or Vacant	Site	Rep	Present or Absent?
1	Vice Chancellor Educational and Student Services, Chair	Nohemy Omelas	DSO	MAN	Present
2	District Director Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness, Chair	Christopher Crew	DSO	MAN	Present
3	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	DSO	MAN	Present
4	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, CHC	Giovanna Sosa	CHC	MAN	Present
5	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, SBVC	Joanna Oxendine	CHC	MAN	Present
6	Human Resources Representative (appointed by VC HR)	Karla Zaragoza	DSO	MAN	Present
7	Faculty, CHC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Jeff Schmidt	CHC	F CONF	Present
8	Faculty, SBVC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Davena Bums-Peters	SBVC	FAC	Present
9	Management, CHC (Accreditation Liaison Officer, appointed by college president)	Keith Wurtz	CHC	MAN	Present
10	Management, SBVC (Accreditation Liaison Officer, appointed by college president)	Dina Humble	SBVC	MAN	Absent
11	Accreditation Committee Chair, CHC	Keith Wurtz	CHC	MAN	Present
12	Accreditation Committee Chair, SBVC	Celia Huston	SBVC	MAN	Present
13	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Brandice Mello	CHC	CLA	Absent
14	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	John Feist	SBVC	CLA	Present
15	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, CHC	Kashaunda Hamis	CHC	MAN	Absent
16	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, SBVC	Rania Hamdy	SBVC		Present
17	Confidential Group (by position, EA Office of the Chancellor	Heather Ford	DSO	CONF	Present
18	CSEA Representative, CHC (appointed by CSEA)	Vacant	CHC	CLA	
19	CSEA Representative, SBVC (appointed by CSEA)	Kay Dee Yarborough	SBVC	CLA	Present
20	CSEA Representative, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Myung Koh	DSO	CLA	Present
21	CTA (appointed by CTA)	Guy Martin Hinrichs	CHC	FAC	Absent
22	Black Faculty & Staff Association (appointed by BFSA President)	Allan Erving	SBVC	CLA	Present
23	Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association (appointed by LFSAA President)	Emest Guillen	SBVC	CLA	Present
24	Associated Student Government President or designee, CHC	Amr Bahjiri (proxy)	CHC	STU	Present
25	Associated Student Government President or designee, SBVC	Paul Del Rosario	SBVC	STU	Absent

IEAC Formal Vote

IEAC Recommendation #2022-05 | Seat on IEAC for Vested Group – Police Officer Association

1.	District Director Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness	Christopher Crew	Aye
2.	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	Aye
3.	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, CHC	Giovanni Sosa	Aye
4.	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, SBVC	Joanna Oxendine	Aye
5.	Human Resources Representative (appointed by VC HR)	Joe Opris	Aye
6.	Faculty, CHC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Jeff Schmidt	Aye
7.	Faculty, SBVC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Davena Burns-Peters	Aye
8.	Management, CHC (Accreditation Liaison Officer. appointed by college pres.)	Keith Wurtz	Aye
9.	Management, SBVC (Accreditation Liaison Officer. appointed by college pres.)	Dina Humble	Absent
10	. Accreditation Committee Chair, CHC	Keith Wurtz	Aye
11	. Accreditation Committee Chair, SBVC	Celia Huston	Absent
12	. Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Brandice Mello	Absent
13	. Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	John Feist	Aye
14	. Professional Development Coordinator or designee, CHC	Kashaunda Harris	Aye
15	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, SBVC	Rania Hamdy	Aye
16	. Confidential Group (by position, EA Office of the Chancellor)	Heather Ford	Aye
17	. CSEA Representative, CHC (appointed by CSEA)	Artour Aslanian	Aye
18	. CSEA Representative, SBVC (appointed by CSEA)	Kay Dee Yarborough	Aye
19	. CSEA Representative, DSO (appointed by CSEA)	Myung Koh	Aye
20	. CTA (appointed by CTA)	Guy Martin Hinrichs	Absent
21	. Black Faculty & Staff Association (appointed by BFSA President)	Allan Erving	Aye
22	. Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association (appointed by LFSAA Pres.)	Ernest Guillen	Aye
23	. Associated Student Government President or designee, CHC	Madeleine Boone	Aye
24	. Associated Student Government President or designee, SBVC	Paul Del Rosario	Absent